RSS

MY FAITH MY FAMILY MY FRIENDS!!

29 Nov

Words cannot express the joy I’m feeling right now as I think back over the last several days. As I shared with my family over the weekend, I can’t recall in my mind when I’ve  enjoyed myself more than these past few days. Maybe it’s because I’m getting older after all next year is a major milestone for me personally, I turn sixty years old in July that’s even hard to say out loud harder still to type it on my keyboard. Our family like so many others  gathered together for a time of thanks. We no doubt did what so many families were doing;  visiting, sharing, laughing, reminiscing about the good ole days. the women would gather in the kitchen and men would gather round a TV to watch a football game and the children would be outside playing or somewhere in the house being loud and having the time of their lives. I’m quite certain many families hold to their annual traditions which makes thanksgiving all the more unique and interesting on so many levels. Our family just like yours bowed our heads to give thanks for God’s richest blessings on each of us as well as our nation. It was my honor to lead our family in prayer as we joined hands and made our little circle.  As we adults sat down to eat and the little ones took their places it reminded me of my younger days at home when our family of thirteen would begin to chow down as they say, I was so thrilled at the thought of  thinking about how one day in heaven we would gather around the heavenly banquet table, just like the song says; “I CAN ONLY IMAGINE”  As I sit here now, it’s Monday evening and the memories of this past weekend are still with me and I pray they will continue to be with me. The scriptures are quite clear as to how God wants us to respond to him; “In everything give thanks; for this is the will of God in Chris t Jesus for you. (NKJV) Now that thanksgiving is over as far as the world is concerned we as believers know it’s not over because our instructions are very clear from  the word of God. Our spiritual lives are as the kids say these days; 24/7!! It’s my prayer for every Christian home that our families continue to express our thankfulness and gratefulness to our great God. My wife and I experienced a major milestone yesterday as we sat and listened to our  son deliver his very first sermon. He spoke in my place and as I sat there and watched him, listened to him as he spoke very passionately about the Apostle Peter and how after his denial of his Lord and master, he then took us to John 21 and then proceeded to exegete that whole text. Well folks I don’t have to tell you as you could imagine, I was thrilled beyond words. To God be the glory!! In the way of a prayer request; I’ve never asked this before on my blog site but could you pray for my son, Stephen-Michael J. Collins that God would continue to lead him in the direction that the heavenly Father sees fit. We simply pray that God’s will be done in his life. He’s currently attending Johnson University in Knoxville, Tn. studying for the youth/preaching ministry.  As I wrap this up I found some really cool quotes about family; “A happy family is but an earlier heaven”  (John Bowring)  “The family is the nucleus of  civilization”  (Will Durant) “The family is more sacred than the state” Pope Pius XI  “A large family, quick help. (Serbian proverb) “The happiest moments of my life have been the few which I have passed at home in the bosom of my family” ( Thomas Jefferson) Friends, let’s give thanks for our FAITH our FAMILY our FRIENDS. We travel this road of life just one time friends, let’s make the best of it while we can. Oh, Give Thanks To The Lord!! God Is So Good To His Own, We Need To Praise His Holy Name Church. So in closing let me say it’s good to be back with you once again, my schedule might not allow me to post daily as I would like, as I have many responsibilities coming up in the new year. I covet your prayers daily that God would continue to give me strength and energy to keep up with all my duties as husband, preacher/teacher, small business owner. I’m a very busy man just like many of you, but I will do my best to keep up. So until next time my friends, Godspeed!!!

 
2 Comments

Posted by on November 29, 2011 in Uncategorized

 

2 responses to “MY FAITH MY FAMILY MY FRIENDS!!

  1. Ricklee's Poetry Plus

    November 29, 2011 at 4:59 am

    Dear Vertical Viewer: Don’t feel alone on the age. I’ll be sixty on Dec. 5th. I’m writing it on the computer. It’s not that hard to do, even though it seems like I never would of made it. Obviously, The Lord has other plans for you and me. It’s not over yet. It’s just beginning. You must be a proud father having a son give a sermon. I would be. Congratulations! You have a good Godly son. And I pray that Stephen-Miahael J. Collins continues to be blessed and loved with the Lord’s peace, love, harmony, and grace. May he continue to spread the word of our Lord and savior. May the God of hope fill you with all joy and peace in believing, that ye may abound in hope, through the power of the Holy Ghost. (Rom 15:13) May God Bless You Ricklee

     
  2. ptl2010

    November 29, 2011 at 5:01 am

    Congratulations on the PK who is taking after his father. Praise God for He surely has answered your prayers and I join you and your wife in prayers that he will bring honor and glory and praise to the King of kings and Lord of lords, all his days. Kudos to you and your wife for obeying the Lord in training your child in the way he should go. Blessings.

     

Leave a Reply

 
